Header with LogoHeader no logo
color band

Choose your language here
Choose your language here

Customer Reviews dating between 27 September 2012 and 14 February 2016

Over the last couple of years, one of the changes we have noted is the trend for our customers to post their reviews on web sites like AirBNB, Trip Advisor, Agoda and so on. Links to these web sites are provided below as well as in our main web site.

All of these reviews, thoughts and comments are real reviews extracted from the original guestbook database. Nothing edited and nothing modified.

Color Band
Sunday, 14 February 2016 14:00
Gabrielle
“The Seven Suns Guesthouse was a super cute boutique hotel in the heart of old town Chiang Mai. Our room was GORGEOUS with a great view, plenty of space, lovely bathroom, kitchenette, and all you could need. The rooms I saw were lovely and each had a unique feel. This is not your standard chain hotel - such a refreshing change of pace! The lounge / restaurant downstairs was fantastic, and we were always happy to see it open and grab a Thai Tea to go when heading out for a day of adventures. Lester was a wonderful host, lovely to talk to, and had great local recommendations. The whole Seven Suns Staff was more than accommodating, so sweet and genuine. I can't wait to come back!!” .

“Great accommodation and a warm welcome”
267Patricia
Weston super mare
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 1, 2016  
Three of us spent 9 days here in the middle of November 2015. Can't praise the cleanliness and size of the rooms accommodation enough. The welcome from Lester his family and staff was first rate and very friendly. Food and laundry service also very good. Also an atmospheric restaurant within a few minutes walk selling authentic Northern Thai food at ( very reasonable ) prices. We will have no hesitation in staying there again if we return to Chiang Mai.

“Exactly what we hoped it would be”
jspence316
Cairo, Egypt
5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 Feb 2016  
Amazing location right in the heart of the old city, but on a quiet street so you can be assured of a good night's sleep.
Amazingly delicious and highly affordable food, ate breakfast here everyday.
Amazing room with a quality bed (hard to find around here). Bathrooms, wifi, cleaning service, air conditioning and everything else were great.
But what made this place really special was the family feeling it has, which was all due to Lester (the owner), his wife, and young daughter who are always around chatting, watching the TV, or having family meals. They are incredibly friendly and willing to either leave you alone or chat about anything and everything. Perfect hosts.

“Nice and clean”
Colin21071978
Cavriglia, Italy
5 of 5 starsReviewed 7 Feb 2016
We stayed here for a week. The rooms are really big and clean and modern. Staff really nice too. In old city..good base to visit. A tuc tuc to the night market is just 100 baht. Lots of nice details to this place. Also very close to the Sunday market too.

“Very relaxing, and comforting especially for English speakers”
Broc333
Tacoma, Washington
5 of 5 starsReviewed 7 Feb 2016
We stayed at this hotel for three days with a promotion from Expedia. The hotel is owned by an American expat, and he provided a lot of great conversation and tips for visiting the area. Although there is no free breakfast, there is a cafe and restaurant which serves food at all times of the day. The rooms were incredibly luxurious, much more than we would expect in Thailand.

Gabrielle
Denver, CO · January 2016
AirBNB
The Seven Suns Guesthouse was a super cute boutique hotel in the heart of old town Chiang Mai. Our room was GORGEOUS with a great view, plenty of space, lovely bathroom, kitchenette, and all you could need. The rooms I saw were lovely and each had a unique feel. This is not your standard chain hotel - such a refreshing change of pace! The lounge / restaurant downstairs was fantastic, and we were always happy to see it open and grab a Thai Tea to go when heading out for a day of adventures. Lester was a wonderful host, lovely to talk to, and had great local recommendations. The whole Seven Suns Staff was more than accommodating, so sweet and genuine. I can't wait to come back!!

Nicola
Hilpoltstein, Germany · January 2016
AirBNB
We had a really nice stay at Seven Suns. Our room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was also good. We can really recommend this place.

Stephanie
US
January 2016
AirBNB
An excellent place to stay. Beautiful spacious room and good central position in the old town. The staff were lovely, Lester was very informative and we enjoyed a good early evening meal there too.
Color Band

“7 Reasons for Seven Suns”
ikeeptrying2015
Tucson, Arizona
4 of 5 starsReviewed December 29, 2015 
A good place to consider for your stay in Chiang Mai. Here's what I liked about it. The rooms are large, clean, modern and quiet. Everything works. The AC is cold and the water gets hot and has pressure. You can walk downstairs in the morning, have a cup of coffee and read the paper in a quiet, comfortable atmosphere among happy people before heading out for the day. I guess that's more than 7.

Christina
San Francisco
December 2015
My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at Seven Suns Residence. Lester and his staff were very warm and welcoming. The listing was exactly as described on Airbnb, and we were pleasantly surprised to find that the room was even bigger than expected. We were provided with suggestions for renting a motorbike, and advised to head to the Sunday Night Market before it got way too crowded. Everything is within walking distance from Seven Suns Residence, and finding our way around the city was very easy. Our stay in Chiang Mai was made enjoyable because of our choice to stay at Seven Suns Residence.

"7 Reasons for Seven Suns”
ikeeptrying2015
Tucson, Arizona
4 of 5 starsReviewed December 29, 2015 
A good place to consider for your stay in Chiang Mai. Here's what I liked about it. The rooms are large, clean, modern and quiet. Everything works. The AC is cold and the water gets hot and has pressure. You can walk downstairs in the morning, have a cup of coffee and read the paper in a quiet, comfortable atmosphere among happy people before heading out for the day. I guess that's more than 7.

Juan
New York, NY · December 2015
AirBNB
Short yet great stay. It was exactly what I was looking for. Lester greeted me upon my arrival at 10pm and showed me to my room, which felt more like a studio apartment. Lester & staff were very accommodating to any needs. I will definitely be recommending this stay to friends.

Jennifer
Chico, California
December 2015
AirBNB
My fiancée and I came to Chiang Mai for a few days after spending time in bustling Bangkok. We stayed with Lester for one night, and we were surprised and more than excited about how nice the room was, and how accommodating Lester and his family were. We were so thrilled to have an actual shower! The location is great in the Old City, and if we make our way to Chiang Mai in the future we will stay here again.

Zhi?Peng
Beijing, China
December 2015
Both Room condition and location is very convenient? breakfast is nice too.we have a very good time in seven Suns residence.

Christina
San Francisco
December 2015
My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at Seven Suns Residence. Lester and his staff were very warm and welcoming. The listing was exactly as described on Airbnb, and we were pleasantly surprised to find that the room was even bigger than expected. We were provided with suggestions for renting a motorbike, and advised to head to the Sunday Night Market before it got way too crowded. Everything is within walking distance from Seven Suns Residence, and finding our way around the city was very easy. Our stay in Chiang Mai was made enjoyable because of our choice to stay at Seven Suns Residence.

Paul
November 2015
Saint Helens, United Kingdom
Spacious very well furnished room in a good location inside the moat in the old city of Chiang Mai. Lester and his staff are very friendly and helpful making this a great base for exploring the area.

Frank
Oakland, CA
November 2015
We had an awesome 6 day/night stay at Seven Suns! Lester & Sun are super friendly, hospitable, and fun folks. We strongly recommend their place! Thanks for the good times!

“Treated us like family”
Dennis S
Miami, Florida
5 of 5 starsReviewed December 19, 2015  
We love Lester and his team. Since the first email to request a room, we felt welcome like family, not like just another check-in. We stayed 3 weeks total and couldn't have asked for more. Beautiful large room (with AC), quieter street still in the Old City, restaurant downstairs and attentive staff

“Wonderful small hotel in the Old City”
Catherine S
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015  
My husband and I spent almost 2 weeks at Seven Suns and found it to be a delightful place to stay. Our room was large and comfortable with a big bed, a sofa, table and 2 chairs, good air con and a ceiling fan. It was very clean also.
 Lester and Sonh were great hosts and gave us good info about the area and generally treated us like family.
 Seven Suns is conveniently located near our favorite Wat, Wat Chedi Luang, and is close to where the Sunday night market is held.
 We'd definitely stay there again.
Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel have nice views of green trees across the street.
Devider

“Great gem in Chiang Mai!”
Mags0509
Corona del Mar, California
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014  
The Seven Suns Inn was a great location for our Chiang Mai stay. Lester, the owner, arranged a pick up from the airport for us (only 10-15 minutes away). The room was clean and very spacious. We took advantage of the restaurant downstairs for breakfasts and a delicious dinner. Lester, his wife and daughter and the entire staff made our stay enjoyable and comfortable. The location really couldn't be more perfect - centrally located in the middle of the old city with restaurants, temples, massage places and the Sunday Walking market all within a few minutes walking. We would gladly return or recommend Seven Suns place to other AirBnBers.

“All round a great place to stay”
Richard L
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014  via mobile 
We loved it here - the owner's were great, really friendly and welcoming and the room was super comfy with the best pillows I've ever had in Thailand (I am a big fan of good pillows hah) . The luxury suite was really spacious too with sofas and a desk just all round an awesome place to stay. Can't recommend it enough!

“Our Home Away From Home”
zek7717
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014  via mobile 
We can say enough good things about our stay here at Seven Suns. The rooms were very clean. The location was perfect, in the middle of old town. Lester and his wife, along with ALL the staff were perfect hosts. They were so helpful in so many ways.
It was great to have a restaurant downstairs where the beers were cold and the conversations were interesting. The breakfasts were wonderful.
I can't think of one thing to change except to stay longer next time.

“A pearl!”
Nils D
Stockholm, Sweden
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014  
I planned to stay 3 nights but ended up staying almost 14 at this nice little hotel. My room was big, clean and nicely decorated. The staff was nice, friendly and helpful. The food was great. WiFi connection worked fine. Lester is a great host who really cares about his guests. The atmosphere is personal and relaxed but still attentive and professional. The hotel is strongly recommended for those who prefer charm and quality before extravaganza and bling-bling. I will definitely return to Seven Suns

“Home away from home”
KimR01
Aiirlie Beach Australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014  
My daughter,her boyfriend and I stayed at Seven suns recently and enjoyed it so much.
The laid back casualness of the place is just great.
Lester and his wife Sun and their beautiful daughter Michelle are more than great hosts.it was brilliant as they both spoke exceptional English(Lester is from the US) and were there to help with absolutely anything we needed.
They make great breakfasts and Lester's smoothies are to die for.ive been trying to replicate them but just can't make them as good.
The rooms are super comfortable and huge. The attention to details was much appreciated!! Air conditioning was perfect!!
The location is also close to everything and if not just a short walk or a tuk tuk ride to anywhere you need to go.
The staff are so friendly and caring here and we also hired one of the staffs husband who had a taxi to take us on tours.Nam ,he was great.
Free wifi connection was great !!
I can highly recommend Seven suns to anyone and will definitely go back when in Chiang Mai next.
Kim
Sydney

“Great hotel !”
Kat R
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014  via mobile 
We had a terrific stay at the Seven Suns . It is a wonderful small hotel with superb rooms and a very kind staff . The location of the hotel is excellent as a base to explore the city . Delicious breakfasts are offered at the restaurant. Thank you !
“Great deals in Thailand - Lester PRICELESS”

Francine & Don
Edmonton Ca
24 April 2014
5S
Attentive staff, easy going owner, centrally located but still quiet
My husband and I spent 3 days at this hotel while touring Thailand. Within the first few moments of arriving and speaking with Lester, the owner, we knew we were home. Lester is from San Francisco and the fact that we could ask questions in English and receive all the information we needed to get the best out of our experience in Chiang Mai was a huge asset. He knew everything about everything and was able to make recommendations on whatever we needed.
This hotel felt like we were coming home every night. The staff all knew us and addressed us by name. Lester was ever so attentive to our needs and often came to see us while we were eating or having drinks and struggling with our tour books trying to figure out our next move. He d come over and ask if he could help then figure it all out for us. We came home one night to find him waiting by the gate. He d received a call from someone who wanted to make a delivery to one of the guests and told him he d be there in 10 minutes. 45 minutes later, Lester was stilll waiting by the gate to accept the delivery because he wanted to make sure the guest wasn't disappointed.
It s important to note that Lester and his wife closed the hotel for a year to renovate it completely therefore all the rooms look brand new and have very inviting and tasteful decor.
I felt we were somewhat high needs guests as this was our first trip abroad from Canada but Lester was ever so patient and helpful. The hotel is very close to restaurants and bars and pretty much anything else you ll need. We'll be returning there on our way back home to Canada and look forward to seeing Lester, his family and the staff. We re a couple in our late 40 s and have travelled extensively in North and Central America but this is the first time we ve ever experienced this type of personal attention by the owner of a hotel. He and his loyal staff will do anything they can to better your holiday while you are with them.
You will not be disappointed!
Francine & Don
Room Tip: Rooms facing the front have a view of the street however traffic is minimal therefore not an issue...

“Homey and Comfortable”
clearspice
Boston USA
20 April 2014
5s
Stayed for 5 days in Seven Suns and was very happy! I stayed during Songkran and it was wonderful to have such a nice refuge when I wanted to escape the water sports. Lester and his wife Sun (and all the staff!) are kind and generous; they made me feel right at home.
The rooms are large and comfortable with artistic touches, and the French press coffee was such a nice perk. I made it every morning and every day they refilled the jar with fresh coffee grounds.
Great area to be in as far as the Old City, only a couple blocks from lots of restaurants and shops. Quiet at night and felt very safe.

“Felt like staying with old best friends and everything was taken care of”
Whew Dog Adventures
Redmond WA
26 March 2014
5s
We can't say enough good things to do the Seven Suns justice. After a week of rigorous traveling, Seven Suns arranged for pick up at the airport, gave us drinks upon arrival, and even treated us with their standard complimentary appetizers with our happy hour beers. That was just for starters!
After taking a nice hot shower in the huge bathroom in our spacious suite, we headed back down to their beautiful street side patio to watch the locals pass by on this well located yet quaint little avenue. We had dinner on the patio with Lester, Sahn, and Michelle, which was superb. After dinner we hung out with some other guests trading travel stories and advice. With that advice, we decided to go see the tigers at Tiger Kingdom the next day.
After an amazing breakfast, Seven Suns arranged a tuk tuk to get us to the shopping mall so that we could replace a lost smartphone and then a taxi to take us to the Tiger Kingdom and wait for us for the return trip. Unbelievable service!
But the service is just part of the excellent experience; the location of Seven Suns is ideal in Old City, and the rooms are better than most peoples' apartments. The furniture is modern, the bed was big and comfy, air conditioning worked as it should, little kitchenette area with French Press and local premium coffee, fridge and big bright windows made for a super place to stay.
It was sad to leave as we were so relaxed and happy staying there. With big hugs good bye, we hopped into the arranged taxi to the airport.
We look forward to our next stay stay at Seven Suns and highly recommend it to others.
Room Tip: We had the second floor corner suite and loved it!

“Great place to stay - quite, spacious and with a great host”
Mischa K
Bonn Germany
9 March 2014
5S
I stayed at Seven Suns for two nights and all i can give is a full recomandation for this place. Lester is a really nice guy and this staff is very friendly and helpfull. Even the transport to the Airport was not charged I'm sorry that i had to leave that fast.
Therefore: If you are looking for a quite and place to stay in the center of Chiang Mai, this is your place to go! You are in walking distance to the Night Bazaar without having a noisy bar or club next door.
Hint: Try those Wholeweat Waffles for Breakfast!!
Lester, my best to you, your family and your staff! Michael

“Comfortable Stay at a Central Location”
D.C.
Houston
28 Feb 2014
4S
+ Excellent location near Wat Phra Singh, just southwest of the center of the old city (if the taxi / tuk-tuk / songthaew driver doesn't recognize the location, just tell them to go to the BP Chiang Mai City Hotel, which is a two-minute walk down the block) + Clean, spacious, comfortable space with powerful A/C, free bottled water each...

WhewDogAdventures
Redmond, WA
March 30

“Felt like staying with old best friends and everything was taken care of”
We can't say enough good things to do the Seven Suns justice. After a week of rigorous traveling, Seven Suns arranged for pick up at the airport, gave us drinks upon arrival, and even treated us with their standard complimentary appetizers with our happy hour beers. That was just for starters!
After taking a nice hot shower in the huge bathroom in our spacious suite, we headed back down to their beautiful street side patio to watch the locals pass by on this well located yet quaint little avenue. We had dinner on the patio with Lester, Sahn, and Michelle, which was superb. After dinner we hung out with some other guests trading travel stories and advice. With that advice, we decided to go see the tigers at Tiger Kingdom the next day.
After an amazing breakfast, Seven Suns arranged a tuk tuk to get us to the shopping mall so that we could replace a lost smartphone and then a taxi to take us to the Tiger Kingdom and wait for us for the return trip. Unbelievable service!
But the service is just part of the excellent experience; the location of Seven Suns is ideal in Old City, and the rooms are better than most peoples' apartments. The furniture is modern, the bed was big and comfy, air conditioning worked as it should, little kitchenette area with French Press and local premium coffee, fridge and big bright windows made for a super place to stay.
It was sad to leave as we were so relaxed and happy staying there. With big hugs good bye, we hopped into the arranged taxi to the airport.
We look forward to our next stay stay at Seven Suns and highly recommend it to others.
Room Tip: We had the second floor corner suite and loved it!

“Welcoming place in nice location”
jmoses79
Shianghai
6 feb 2014
5 S
What stood out the most was the owner, Lester, and the staff really know how to make their guests feel welcome. Prior to arrival Lester was quick to respond to any questions I had about the place and Chiang Mai in general. Once we got there, he and the staff were just as helpful and really seemed to be interested in helping and getting to know his guests, whether it was showing us where the night markets were or giving suggestions on Thai food to try.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the location was a very short walk from the Night Bazaar and the Sunday Night Market, which was probably the best market I've been to. I did see some cheaper places on several websites, but all had pretty serious complaints about service or cleanliness. Seven Suns definitely had no such problems. My wife and I agreed that we'd definitely return if we go to Chiang Mai

“Laid Back, Clean, Welcoming Owner, Hospitable Staff”
4 Feb 2014
Marco
5S
True to the other reviews, our driver initially had a difficult time finding this place, but a quick phone call cleared it up and he located it with little time lost (see our “tips” for how to locate the hotel). The owner, Lester (an expat from California who has lived in CM for many, many years), greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room. He proved to be an invaluable source of information and advice throughout our trip. The room was larger than we expected, with a sizable bathroom, living room area and kitchenette. We never ran out of hot water in our shower. We had AC, but didn’t need it at night. The beds, while pretty firm, did not keep us from having a good night’s sleep every night. The place is fairly no-frills, but always clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel is superb—very helpful and attentive. For a very reasonable fee, they wash and dry your laundry. They also helped us repair a piece of luggage that had lost a wheel. The food here was great. You can get Western food or local food—whichever you prefer, do not leave here without trying the mango-banana pancakes. :) The location of the hotel is great, too. We were walking distance to a 7-Eleven gas station (for toiletries and an ATM) and a short walk to an area with lots of restaurants and local spas. The local “bus” (an open air red truck with benches in the back) stops just in front of the hotel, and you are only about 8 mins away (by “bus” or tuk tuk) from the local night market. All in all, one of the warmest and most hospitable places we’ve stayed. Highly recommended!
Room Tip: Tell your cab or tuk-tuk driver that Seven Suns is about two minutes past “BP hotel” on the right-ha...

Weston
Seattle, Washington
March 2014
The Seven Suns is a great place, for a great price, with amazing hosts. The entire staff is friendly and attentive, we were helped a lot with planning and suggestions. And Lester the owner is an awesome man, he made us feel at home, answered any questions that we had, and in general took great care of us, even staying up late and meeting us out front on the street when we arrived late at night. We felt like part of the Seven Suns family! The room was spacious, well equipped and very clean, more of a private apartment then just another room at a hotel or guest house. I would definitely stay here again, and I hope to get that chance again soon.

Chris
Lincoln, Ontario, Canada
March 2014
AirBnB
We had a wonderful stay in Chaing Mai at Seven Suns. Great hosts, staff, accomodations and location in the old city. If you know your travel dates , then look no further and book your stay at Seven Suns.You will be glad that you did.
Cheers Lester! We'll be back!
Chris and Becky

Carole And Ciarán
Dublin, Ireland
March 2014
AirBnB
We had a really nice time in one of Lesters suites.
It's a great location, we were mainly able to avoid getting taxis or tuk Tuks everywhere. On the occasions we needed them lester and his wife were more than willing to organise one for us.
I especially likes the breakfast....and Asian/American fusion of waffles and local fruit. Really nice.
Thanks to lester and family for making or trip to chiang Mai so memorable

D C
Ubud, Indonesia 4Star
Feb 28
“Comfortable Stay at a Central Location”
+ Excellent location near Wat Phra Singh, just southwest of the center of the old city (if the taxi / tuk-tuk / songthaew driver doesn't recognize the location, just tell them to go to the BP Chiang Mai City Hotel, which is a two-minute walk down the block)
+ Clean, spacious, comfortable space with powerful A/C, free bottled water each day, and real coffee grounds for a French press in the room
+ Check-in was a breeze
+ Communication with the owner, Lester, was good before I arrived
+ Lester has good knowledge of and recommendations about Chiang Mai and life in Thailand in general
- The only thing missing is breakfast included with the price of the room, which you can find, for example, at the Gord Chiang Mai in the same price range (approx. $50 USD / night).
- The food in the restaurant downstairs is good and well-prepared but overpriced. Any number of restaurants offer comparable food for less.

Micha K
Bonn, Germany
Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
TripAdvisor
“Great place to stay - quite, spacious and with a great host”
I stayed at Seven Suns for two nights and all i can give is a full recomandation for this place. Lester is a really nice guy and this staff is very friendly and helpfull. Even the transport to the Airport was not charged I'm sorry that i had to leave that fast.
Therefore: If you are looking for a quite and place to stay in the center of Chiang Mai, this is your place to go! You are in walking distance to the Night Bazaar without having a noisy bar or club next door.
Hint: Try those Wholeweat Waffles for Breakfast!!
Lester, my best to you, your family and your staff! Michael

WhewDogAdventures
Redmond, WA
March 30
“Felt like staying with old best friends and everything was taken care of”
We can't say enough good things to do the Seven Suns justice. After a week of rigorous traveling, Seven Suns arranged for pick up at the airport, gave us drinks upon arrival, and even treated us with their standard complimentary appetizers with our happy hour beers. That was just for starters!
After taking a nice hot shower in the huge bathroom in our spacious suite, we headed back down to their beautiful street side patio to watch the locals pass by on this well located yet quaint little avenue. We had dinner on the patio with Lester, Sahn, and Michelle, which was superb. After dinner we hung out with some other guests trading travel stories and advice. With that advice, we decided to go see the tigers at Tiger Kingdom the next day.
After an amazing breakfast, Seven Suns arranged a tuk tuk to get us to the shopping mall so that we could replace a lost smartphone and then a taxi to take us to the Tiger Kingdom and wait for us for the return trip. Unbelievable service!
But the service is just part of the excellent experience; the location of Seven Suns is ideal in Old City, and the rooms are better than most peoples' apartments. The furniture is modern, the bed was big and comfy, air conditioning worked as it should, little kitchenette area with French Press and local premium coffee, fridge and big bright windows made for a super place to stay.
It was sad to leave as we were so relaxed and happy staying there. With big hugs good bye, we hopped into the arranged taxi to the airport.
We look forward to our next stay stay at Seven Suns and highly recommend it to others.
Room Tip: We had the second floor corner suite and loved it!

jmoses79
ShiangHai, China
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
“Welcoming place in nice location”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago 
What stood out the most was the owner, Lester, and the staff really know how to make their guests feel welcome. Prior to arrival Lester was quick to respond to any questions I had about the place and Chiang Mai in general. Once we got there, he and the staff were just as helpful and really seemed to be interested in helping and getting to know his guests, whether it was showing us where the night markets were or giving suggestions on Thai food to try.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the location was a very short walk from the Night Bazaar and the Sunday Night Market, which was probably the best market I've been to. I did see some cheaper places on several websites, but all had pretty serious complaints about service or cleanliness. Seven Suns definitely had no such problems. My wife and I agreed that we'd definitely return if we go to Chiang Mai.

Susan
Yorkshire
February 2014
AirBnB
We loved the location in the heart of the Old City, which apart from some traffic noise, was very quiet & peaceful. The room was wonderfully spacious & well equipped. Everywhere was spotless. It was a great room in which to relax during the hottest parts of the day. We enjoyed the complimentary water, tea & excellent fresh coffee.
Meals were available & were well presented, tasty & of a good quality.
The staff could not have been more helpful, it was like having a home from home. Lester helped us with any queries regarding the city. If mobility is a problem, this might be an issue as we were in the top floor with around 50 steps to climb. It became our fitness regime. A great weeks stay. Thanks.

Aaron
Chicago, Illinois, United States
February 2014
Seven Suns was great. Lester and the staff afe super friendly and helpful. Lester have good tips and was always good for conversation over a beer. The room was excellent and everything was an outstanding value. I would definitely come here again, and I recommend it over the top rated guesthouse on Trip Advisor which was more expensive and not as good.

Fiona and Andy
GB
February 2014
AirBnB
Lester is a very convivial host and ensures his guests enjoy their stay. He arranged to pick us up, with our bicycles, from the airport and set us off to a good start with our holiday in Thailand. The rooms are glorious-spacious, comfortable and stylish, with excellent fresh brew coffee.

John
Shiang hai
AirBnB
What stood out the most was the owner, Lester, and the staff really know how to make their guests feel welcome. Prior to arrival Lester was quick to respond to any questions I had about the place and Chiang Mai in general. Once we got there, he and the staff were just as helpful and really seemed to be interested in helping and getting to know his guests, whether it was showing us where the night markets were or giving suggestions on Thai food to try.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the location was a very short walk from the Night Bazaar and the Sunday Night Market, which was probably the best market I've been to. I did see some cheaper places on several websites, but all had pretty serious complaints about service or cleanliness. Seven Suns definitely had no such problems. My wife and I agreed that we'd definitely return if we go to Chiang Mai.

marco172
5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago 
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
“Laid Back, Clean, Welcoming Owner, Hospitable Staff”
True to the other reviews, our driver initially had a difficult time finding this place, but a quick phone call cleared it up and he located it with little time lost (see our “tips” for how to locate the hotel). The owner, Lester (an expat from California who has lived in CM for many, many years), greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room. He proved to be an invaluable source of information and advice throughout our trip. The room was larger than we expected, with a sizable bathroom, living room area and kitchenette. We never ran out of hot water in our shower. We had AC, but didn’t need it at night. The beds, while pretty firm, did not keep us from having a good night’s sleep every night. The place is fairly no-frills, but always clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel is superb—very helpful and attentive. For a very reasonable fee, they wash and dry your laundry. They also helped us repair a piece of luggage that had lost a wheel. The food here was great. You can get Western food or local food—whichever you prefer, do not leave here without trying the mango-banana pancakes. :) The location of the hotel is great, too. We were walking distance to a 7-Eleven gas station (for toiletries and an ATM) and a short walk to an area with lots of restaurants and local spas. The local “bus” (an open air red truck with benches in the back) stops just in front of the hotel, and you are only about 8 mins away (by “bus” or tuk tuk) from the local night market. All in all, one of the warmest and most hospitable places we’ve stayed. Highly recommended!
Room Tip: Tell your cab or tuk-tuk driver that Seven Suns is about two minutes past “BP hotel” on the right-hand side.

Jackie C
Glasgow
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 13, 2014  
“Pure dead brilliant”
We have had an excellent 10days at Seven Suns in Chiang Mai. This is our second time here and it was just as good if not better than our last trip. Lester and his lovely wife and beautiful daughter made us very welcome and their fantastically friendly staff could not do enough for us and were always smiling:0)
The food is totally excellent and incredibly good value for money we cannot recommend this place highly enough. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable with everything you could need.

Robin
Denver Colorado, USA
January 2014
AirBnB
Seven Suns was so much more than a hotel; it felt like our own little home with so much effort put into the details. Bougainvillea spilling from the window boxes, hand towels, toiletries and French press coffee in the room! So much personal space and such a welcome retreat from bustling Chiang Mai. Be sure to have your laundry done here! And try the whole wheat waffle for breakfast!

Amol
LA USA
January 2014
AirBnB
Despite our late night arrival after our flight was delayed, Lester knew when we were supposed to arrive and opened the door with welcome arms (and beers) when we finally showed up. The bar/restaurant and outdoor patio setup has a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere as well as being open and airy. It is a lovely retreat at the end of a busy day, and extremely convenient to have as a part of the hotel.
The open, airy, and relaxed feelings continue as you go into the rooms. The recently remodeled and tastefully appointed room was spacious and included all of the essentials and then some - seating area, desk, king size bed, great double sink bathroom with toiletries, wet bar, as well as an armoire with a locked safe inside. The wet bar was stocked with soda, water, and a few beers. There was also a small French press and coffee available, which as an avid coffee drinker, made my wife extremely pleased.
We were only able to eat two morning meals at the restaurant, and both were quite tasty and reasonably priced. The food was freshly made and worth it if you have a few extra minutes.
The location of the hotel is very central and it was very easy to get to and from the night market, as well as some of the more popular landmarks in the area. Restaurants, spas, and bars were within an easy 10 minute walk.
Lester was very helpful with tips for things we were planning to do and even arranged a last minute ride so we could go play golf - he even generously offered his golf clubs.
All in all, beautiful clean rooms, pleasant atmosphere, nice restaurant, helpful staff, and a very enjoyable stay. We highly recommend the Seven Suns Residence.
Thank you, Lester, to you and your staff - and all the best to your beautiful family including your adorable baby daughter!

Jackie C
Glasgow
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 13, 2014  
“Pure dead brilliant”
We have had an excellent 10days at Seven Suns in Chiang Mai. This is our second time here and it was just as good if not better than our last trip. Lester and his lovely wife and beautiful daughter made us very welcome and their fantastically friendly staff could not do enough for us and were always smiling:0)
The food is totally excellent and incredibly good value for money we cannot recommend this place highly enough. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable with everything you could need.


Robin
Denver Colorado, USA
January 2014
AirBnB
Seven Suns was so much more than a hotel; it felt like our own little home with so much effort put into the details. Bougainvillea spilling from the window boxes, hand towels, toiletries and French press coffee in the room! So much personal space and such a welcome retreat from bustling Chiang Mai. Be sure to have your laundry done here! And try the whole wheat waffle for breakfast! 
Color Band

Vickie Miller
us, 'Jaipur,India,
16/10-30/10/2013
My husband and;I just spent two wonderful weeks in Chiang Mai and stayed the entire time at Seven Suns Residence.  Without a doubt it is the best hotel we've ever stayed at in all of Thailand and we've been there many times.  The rooms are spacious, airy, very well appointed, and the restaurant  has gourmet, home style, healthy food.  The staff are very helpful and the owners, Lester and Sanh gracious and helpful in every way.  If it was possible to give a higher rating than 5 stars we would do so.  This is the place to stay, hands down.

Ben    
ABNB
Portland, Oregon, United States
September 2013
Highly recommended. Good location, great room and bathroom, everyone was very helpful and accommodating. Honestly could not have asked for more.

John
Shiang hai
AirBnB
What stood out the most was the owner, Lester, and the staff really know how to make their guests feel welcome. Prior to arrival Lester was quick to respond to any questions I had about the place and Chiang Mai in general. Once we got there, he and the staff were just as helpful and really seemed to be interested in helping and getting to know his guests, whether it was showing us where the night markets were or giving suggestions on Thai food to try.
Rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the location was a very short walk from the Night Bazaar and the Sunday Night Market, which was probably the best market I've been to. I did see some cheaper places on several websites, but all had pretty serious complaints about service or cleanliness. Seven Suns definitely had no such problems. My wife and I agreed that we'd definitely return if we go to Chiang Mai.

Chris
New York, New York, United States   
Aug 2013
ABNB
Lester and Sahn and the staff were very hospitable, friendly and full of local information. The rooms were really comfortable and nicely decorated. And the food delicious. Try one of their fresh fruit smoothies too! We loved strolling the neighborhood and mixing with locals. We had a terrific time! Thanks Seven Suns.

Jim Truesdell
id', Jakarta
15/9-24/9/2013
The best place I have stayed in Thailand. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the amenities are fantastic and the atmosphere is friendly and helpful.If you haven't stayed here, it is worth the trip to Chiang Mai just to experience this guest house

Brigit Aklin and Daniel Naterop',
ch, 'Zürich', '
14/6---18/6/13
Dear Sanh and dear Leister, We had a great time at your residence and thank you for the support in finding our way around in wonderfull Chiang Mai. If your friend or you come to Switzerland contact us for any support or to meet us for a drink at our home or in Zürich. We wish you all the best, health and hapiness.We would very much enjoy to receive a picture of your baby. A big hug from Brigit Aklin and Daniel Naterop'

Robert
ABNB   
Paris, Île-de-France, France
May 2013
We had a great time staying at Lester's place. Lester and his wife are great host, always ready to share information with us or to help when needed. The room was big, comfortable, nice and the place is very well located - in the center, not far from the places of interest but in a calm surrounding. We will definitely stay there the next time we go to chiang mai. Thank you!

Graham M'
'May 3, 2013
Do yourself a favour - go there. We found the Seven Suns by accident and what a find! The Seven Suns is owned and operated by Lester and Sanh Smith, an American and his Laos wife. Both were wonderful, and the staff were delightful - nothing was too much trouble.\r\n\r\nThe rooms were great - large, clean, and with state of the art plumbing in the bathroom - obviously a lot of attention to detail in the recent refurbishment. The location, within the Old City walls is ideal for mooching around, and again Lester and Sanh came into their own with great hints and tips of where to go and what to see. They have an obvious love for what they do - so do yourself a favor and go there if you are in Chiang Mai. You will not be disappointed

Val
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States       
April 17
ABNB
My husband and I had a wonderful experience staying at Lester's place. It was very beautiful, clean, located close to everything in the old city (including two blocks from the Sunday market and walking distance to some delicious organic cafes) and Lester was a perfect host! We highly recommend staying at this charming bnb if you are visiting Chiang Mai.

Marian
pl         '05-04-2013
cheers for all visitors!!
Marian, Poland

Doug W'
au, 'Perth, WA'   
April 28, 2013
I had the pleasure of spending a week at the Seven Suns Hotel in Chiang Mai. I stayed in one of the large rooms and it was HUGE! This hotel has been recently renovated by the owners and they have done a superb job. The bathroom is the best I have seen in Thailand. The bathroom would be at least twice the room of any other hotel I have been in. The rooms have all the mod cons and are very clean. The staff are very friendly and do an excellent job. The owners are there every day and were very helpful with any question I had and were only too willing to help with getting a tuk tuk or a taxi or booking a tour. Transportation in Chiang Mai is very cheap, so being in the Old City is no problem when it costs you only 20 baht to get to the night bazaar. This hotel is in a quiet part of Chiang Mai, so there is no problems with outside noise.\r\n\r\nStaying at this hotel was like staying with family and is easily the best hotel I have stayed in whilst travelling in Thailand. next time I travel to Chiang Mai I will definitely stay at the Seven Suns.

Girona
March 2013
My husband and I originally were only going to stay here for 4 nights but we were so happy with the rice, location, staff and value that we almost doubled our stay! The owner (Lester) was very friendly, helping us with with any questions and offering a family type atmosphere. The rooms were huge and very clean. Quiet road and bright, sunny rooms!

'KatiexKatie'
'us''Saint Louis, Missouri   
March 10, 2013
Amazing modern features and a inexpensive rate. The owner and his wife recently renovated this guest house. Amazing modern features and a inexpensive rate.I'd go again in a heartbeat!! The owner, is American and his Thai wife are both very accommodating

Jemhorne   
'March 3, 2013
Lester and his team go out of their way to make you feel welcome, part of the family.Tranquil, relaxed home from home. Large, well furnished rooms, though the bed, like most in SE Asia, is firmer than I would like. Be aware that older reviews are for pre renovation. Highly recommended. The prices have also gone up but worth it.

Sarah
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Feb 2013
AirBNB
Totally loved staying at SevenSuns. Lester and his wife were extremely hospitable and nothing was too much trouble. The room was light and airy and although the guest house is close to all the old town sites the place was quiet and relaxing.
Breakfast is delightful and with the February heat I could have lived off that alone. What can I say - I will definitely be back - thank-you Lester for a fabulous and memorable stay.

Kevin
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia    
AirBNB
Feb 2013
This was our first experience with AirBnB and we were very pleased with the result! It was our first trip to Chiang Mai and Lester could not have been of any more help! His personal experiences in Southeast Asia along with the help of his staff made our stay in Chiang Mai absolutely wonderful. Lester gave us tips of not only the city but the rest of our trip in Thailand. I highly recommend staying at the hotel, it surpassed our expectations and we absolutely loved our stay there. It is a beautiful place, centrally located. Within walking distance to everything. Lester was even kind enough to provide us with a ride from the airport to the Seven Suns location the day we arrived. One tip I recommend for anyone who books a stay here, beware, there is a Seven Senses Guesthouse, commonly confused with Lester's place, Seven Suns. Best to have the address on you when using a taxi or tuk tuk. Other then that, absolutely stay with Lester, it is a great experience that's more than just any other hotel.

Jackie
uk, Scotland   
 Thursday, February 14, 2013
We would like to thank you for a wonderful stay at the Seven Suns. We arrived back in Scotland last night and woke up this morning to snow!! Bloody freezing -2 degrees... oh my god!!!
After we left you guys we travelled by air to Bangkok and then by bus to Trat and ended up in a an awful dirty guesthouse for an night until we headed for the boat to Koh Mak. All we could talk about was the first class service and cleanliness of your beautiful guesthouse. We also missed Sunns amazing cooking and the cheery smiles of all your staff. Thanks again for a fantastic time with you all , you truly made us feel like family.

blakbart
th, Thailand   
February 18, 2013
Food for the Soul! Seven Suns Residence in Chiang Mai’s Old City is what a bed and breakfast is supposed to be. The rooms are big enough to actually live in … by my measurement over 40 square meters. In fact everything in the room is big. The bed is big, the windows are big, the bathroom is huge! Last Sunday I just chilled.

billair
th, 'Thailand   
February 7, 2013
Fantastic Value. I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely guesthouse in early December.The rooms were much larger than expected. the furnishings were done quite tastefully to give an open, clean and uncluttered feeling. Bathroom was huge with double sink and hot water there, as well as the showers. Room was immaculately clean everyday.The coffee maker with coffee was a nice touch, especially for a very inexpensive guesthouse. All in all, just a terrific little place in the middle of Old City.\r\nI have already recommended this little gem to a number of my friends, and they all loved it.

Keg0313
au, 'Sydney' '
February 2, 2013
Incredible find, amazing location, excellent service.Lester even sent someone for us to the airport. He is American but had been living in Thailand with his wife for 10+ years, so he can really help you with any advice or tips on traveling throughout the country. The room is simply great. Lester recently completed renovating the building, so everything is essentially new and modern. Centrally located, you are but walking distance to many Wats around the city along with restaurants, bars and markets not too far away. The value behind these rooms and location is great. There is also a laundry service available. The staff has also helped us in booking tours, spa treatments, etc. with their capability to communicate to the places in Thai, especially about the exact location. The building also has a restaurant and bar with breakfast, lunch and dinner options.

Marcus4005
au, 'Brisbane   
January 23, 2013
This was my first visit to Chiang Mai. I was already confident I had found the right place due to the helpful and informative emails I received from the owner, Lester, before I arrived. He arranged the seamless transfer from the Airport to the Motel on our very late arrival. The place is completely refurbished with bigger rooms then previously, everything is new and modern. Wonderful and comfortable bed (very important for me). Breakfasts were a great showcase of local cuisine mixed with western options.
Lester, his wife and team were all very friendly and helpful. It was a relaxng stay and will return for a longer stay later this year...:)
Modern, Clean, Great Location & Wonderful Hospitality

Maya Ramos Chua
sg, 'Singapore',
21-25/4/13
'I was amazed when entering the junior suite room having assumed from the price that it would be similar to other similarly priced accommodation in Chiang Mai. Not so. The room was luxurious and the bathroom a delight. I was also pleased to able to brew my own tea and coffee in the room at the in-room mini kitchen. Finally, I must mention the restaurant. Excellent food and a spread that would satisfy the most fastidious eater. Congratulations to Lester and his delightful wife Sanh.

Ashish
us, 'San Francisco
January 2013   
Lester's place is amazing and you should look no further and stay here. The entire building has been completely remodeled with an attention to detail and to cater to the western traveler. Lester and his wife are onsite and are extremely helpful in terms of arranging cooking schools, recommendations on restaurants, and local sightseeing. We stayed in room 401, which was spacious with a comfortable king size bed, and an amazing bathroom. A small fridge and hot water kettle with complimentary tea and coffee are a bonus along with the bottled water. The sitting area had a brand new and comfortable couch along with a brand new flat screen TV. The breakfast's are delicious and run less than $5 made fresh to order. The staff was kind enough to even make us take away sandwiches for our train ride back to Bangkok. We would definitely stay there again and if you are going to Chiang Mai you should look no further and book it
Color Band
Denny
th Phuket
20/11/12
'Outstanding visit!  Staying with Sun & Lester was like family, right down to dining together for our evening meals.  I live in Patong down in Phuket and enjoyed SevenSuns. I can't recommend staying at SevenSuns enough.  Cheers, Denny',

Lauren & Joe Crook
uk, 'London'
6 Dec 2012
I have loved staying at Seven Suns.The rooms are spotlessly clean, well thought out with lots of plug sockets, nicely decorated, very airy & spacious - perfect for us to practice our yoga. The staff - Oi, Ying, Lynn, Maryanne, Ta are an absolute delight and are great cooking teachers, tailors, advisors too. Above all, Lester and Sanh are absolutely charming hosts...laidback, welcoming, helpful and a pleasure to spend time with. We stayed here initially for a week and stayed for another 3 nights when we came back to Chiang Mai - we only wish the rooms &  the wonderful staff were available everywhere we have travelled.  We will definitely recommend Seven Suns

Elhjay
December 2012
“Newly renovated guesthouse with wonderful staff to match”My husband & I have loved staying at Seven Suns. Please ignore the reviews earlier than the end of 2011, as it was only taken over from that point & recently renovated throughout. It is in a great location in the Old City, with all amenities close by.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, well thought out with lots of plug sockets, excellent Wifi, nicely decorated & very airy & spacious - perfect for us to practice our yoga.
The staff - Oi, Ying, Lynn, Maryanne & Ta are an absolute delight & are great cooking teachers, tailors & advisors too.
Above all, Lester & Sanh are absolutely charming hosts...laidback, welcoming, helpful & a pleasure to spend time with. Lester has been living in Thailand for 20 years & has great local knowledge.
We stayed here initially for a week & stayed for another 3 nights when we came back to Chiang Mai - we only wish the rooms & the wonderful staff were available everywhere we have travelled. We will definitely recommend Seven Suns.
 Room Tip: Worth spending the little bit extra for a large suite.

William Harris   
th 'Phuket'
Novermber 2012
This past week I went to Chiang Mai for the first time in awhile. My wife and I paid a visit to Lester who recently bought and renovated Seven Suns in Old Town. There are but six rooms, but all quite large and extremely tastefully furnished. We stayed in a suite, there are three of these, that was about 60 sq meters. Very, very spacious.
Bathrooms are very well done with double sinks and excellent shower. Nice minibar area with sink and available coffee with small French press. I think the room I stayed was 1500 baht, and the Standard was 1300....larger than most Deluxe type rooms. All in all a terrific little place in a quiet neighborhood about a kilometer from Loy Kroh.Highly recommend.

Tony Wheely
th Chiang Mai    24 Nov 2012
'Visit during Loy Krathong and spent 4 nights at Seven Suns ......lovely room, with everything you cold possibly need.A great choice of Breakfasts, well stocked Bar, cool beers. Food superb ! Lester and his wife are just the perfect hostsI will be back
I really enjoyed my stay, The staff and management are especially helpful, The rooms are a good size (larger than average), The beds are huge, clean and comfortable, The staff and management are always friendly, We loved the breakfast
Small guesthouse with a big heart
Tony

Richard DuPont
USA
   24 Nov 2012
Les and Sanh don’t have the usual small room you get in most places you stay, their rooms are more like studio apartments with a TV, but minus the stove. They are very professional about the way they manage Seven Suns and the staff is fantastic! I got here Se

AmberMeier
Spain
Reviewed 18 November 2012 Tripadvisor
Small guesthouse with a big heart”
My husband and I originally were only going to stay here for 4 nights but we were so happy with the rice, location, staff and value that we almost doubled our stay! The owner (Lester) was very friendly, helping us with with any questions and offering a family type atmosphere. The rooms were huge and very clean. Quiet road and bright, sunny rooms.

Mickey Dadog
October 20 at 7:54pm
Hey Lester I was wondering where you went! Nice hotel!

Scott Bernat
October 20 at 8:39am
Excellent!
Fiddysguesthouse Fiddys
October 19 at 1:17pm
goodluck with the new hotel lester !!

Mr Miken
Singapore
27 Sept 2012
Mr Lestur the Inn Keeper has a worldwide reputation for hospitality and old world charm. I am delighted to be one of the first visitors to his latest venture into the world of spinning bar stools and bedroom frolics.
Color Band
Color Band
Copywrite:Small Logo  2016 Spacer Valid CSS!  Spacer   SpacerWebDevelopment:  THS Web